Spice Sugar Cookie

With Fall upon us and it is time to make Autumn Cookies. I would love to make a nice spiced-pumpkin flavored sugar cookie that can still be used with my cookie cutters. I have wanted to use my Oak and Maple leaf cutter as well as the Acorn.

I have decided to make the NFSC recipe and add.. Pumpkin Spices and Pumpkin Extract – a flavoring really to replace the Vanilla Extract.

I am prepared for the cookies to come out a little dark due to the spices and since I will be icing them that won’t be a problem…after all it is Autumn.

here is the pumpkin spice recipe I am going to use

1/2 t mace, ground
1 T cinnamon, ground
1 t ginger, ground
1/2 t cloves, ground
1/2 t allspice, ground
1/2 t nutmeg, ground
Makes 2 tablespoons.

Now as to how much to put in the cookies… I am going to start with 2 teaspoon in my dry mix and taste the dough once assembled.

I will be adding the same Pumpkin Flavoring to my Royal Icing and coloring the cookies with oranges and yellows…and a little green of course.

Leave a Reply

