Singer Slant-O-Matic

Can a home sewing machine go through 8 layers of heavy denim? well, mine can! I have a Singer Slant-O-Matic 401A.

Using Jeans Stitch – thread used to sew denim… in both top and bobbin, my machine went through denim like it was running through silk.

Here is my little pictorial.

My husbands jeans - ripped pocket
as you can see my DH ripped his jeans, caught it on the corner of a table I am sure. They are going into the recycle box.

cut leg off of jeans

I have cut the leg off and cut off all of the seams. Turning the jeans fabric, right side, wrong side for all 8 layers… don’t want someone to accuse me of cheating!

8 layers

Using 6 stitches to an inch, adjusting the presser foot tension on top of the machine, replacing the universal needle with a denim needle… Ta Da!

holding up off the table

I have tried so many ways to pick this fabric up off the table to show all eight layers stitched together but the back 2 layers keep curling.

It dawned on me I didn’t show this on my machine so I went back and took some photos

Being sewn on machine

a view of machine

Finishing off

6 Responses

  1. These machines are a wonder!! PS.. that would have been a patching job for my farmer’s jeans… I never have any to donate; when he’s finished with them, there is nothing left but the belt loops and rear pockets! LOL Billye

    • had to sacrifice them to show what wonderful machines these old machines are. Singer knew what they were doing making the 400-600 series slants!

  2. Wow, I have this machines little sister (2 of them) This is the one you have to use cams to get a zig-zag. I love these solid machines. I also have what they call the Rocketeer which is the 500. Many believe your 401 is the best machine Singer ever made. I learned to sew on a Singer Futura that many consider a piece of junk (plastic gears) Enjoy your machine and happy sewing!

  3. Oh this is one of the machines very near the top of my wish list! Just waiting for one to appear at the right price and right distance to go and collect… 🙂 x

  4. About 2 months ago I bought a slantomatic 401, in table, WITH CHAIR, for $18.00 at the Salvation Army. I got it home and couldn’t believe this incredible machine. It purred! So I have been on the lookout for a portable. And yesterday, from a listing on Craigslist, 6 blocks from where I live (!), I purchased my portable…had to pay $70 for it, but I feel pretty lucky to have two of these
    machines…for under $100!

Leave a Reply

